Computer Science Curriculum Overview 

Computer Science is the operating system for all innovation 

Being part of the Academy Transformation Trust family, we ensure our curriculum is ambitious and enjoyable through knowledge and skills developed throughout their time at Bristnall Hall. It is inclusive and knowledge rich and it is broad in terms of coverage and (at least) encompassing the breadth of the 2014 English National Curriculum. We ensure it meets the needs of our students and helps to develop character, personal pride and the highest moral standards. 

It is the aim of the department to enable learners to develop skills and knowledge in computer science and digital technologies to prepare them for a future in a world where the use of this technology is fully embodied.   We wish to enthuse learners to have an understanding far deeper than the interface that they currently operate by offering them the opportunity to write programs, design webpages and produce professional digital products.  

We aim to enable learners to develop a love of learning for the subject and to help them to become confident, creative and independent learners through challenging and engaging topics. Learners will be given guidance on how to work safely on-line so that it will be second nature to carry out all the necessary steps for their own safety as well as those around them.  We are dedicated to ensuring our students leave with the skills to fully embrace a future of rapidly advancing computer technology 

The national curriculum for computing aims to ensure that all learners 

  • can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation 
  • can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems 
  • can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems 
  • are responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology. 

Learning in Key Stage Three is split up into 3 main areas of study; Computer Science, Information Technology and Digital Literacy.  Pathways are split further into 6 different strands: Algorithms, Programming & Development, Data & Data Representation, Hardware & Processing, Communication & Networks and finally Information Technology.  Learners will have the opportunity to develop their computer coding and digital technology skills.  Learning the language of code is an important added bonus as learners who develop their coding skills will be able to grasp the magic behind the computers.  This will allow them to take their studies onto KS4 and to Further and Higher education if they desire and ultimately secure a career within a large range of industries.

Teaching Staff 

  • Jamie Mole 
  • Tess  Cutler 
  • Heidi Anderson 

Useful websites/resources for learners and parents